Worry vs. Concern

So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ ‘What shall we drink?’ ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matthew 6:31-33, NIV)

If I heard it once I heard it a million times: worry is a sin. I admit I can hear things and take them at face value without doing my own research. But when I decided to look, I did not found the scripture that calls it a sin.

But even if worry is not labeled a sin in scripture, it falls in the category of things Jesus specifically said, “Do not do.”

There are some things we can turn over to God by faith more easily than others.

We live in a time where food, water, and clothing are easy to find. I do not remember a time that faith was required before walking into my closet to get dressed. But there have been circumstances in my life that have tested the “Do not worry” directive.

  • A Prodigal child
  • A pregnancy scare
  • When my youngest child was life-flighted
  • When my son-in-law was shot

And there have been many more. On the surface, these events give worry an immediate platform. If hard things in life come and God knows and sees them all, what are we to do? Chill-out? Forget about it? No, not at all.

Here is the difference between worry and concern. With worry, I picture myself wringing my hands and rocking back and forth because I cannot change a thing in my own circumstances. Every possible negative outcome is flooding my mind.

When I am deeply concerned for my Prodigal child, my choice can be to either wring my hands or fold them and seek God’s kingdom in prayer.

Worry taken to God turns into concern.

God saw every time this mama’s heart was broken for her child and by her child. The more I prayed, the more assurances he gave me of his love for me, and for Jess. Jesus is our example as every time he had concern for his disciples or the people of Israel, he prayed.

However, when peace comes after prayer, we can almost feel guilty. One of the many times Jess left home and we had no idea where she was, I was experiencing a genuine peace. Even to the point of not thinking about her every moment. The enemy crept in and said, “You’re tired of this aren’t you?” “You do not even seem bothered that she is gone.” “Are you heartless?”

The enemy is always there to taunt us into unbelief.

He wanted me to fear that God was not enough. But God was strengthening me and giving me his peace that passes all understanding. He reassured my heart over and over that he loved her more than I did.

Are you facing a crisis now? Are they coming from every direction? Unclench your hands and fold them. “Cast your care on Him, because He cares about you.” (1st Peter 5:7, HCSB)

© 2023 – Jill Jamieson – All Rights Reserved.

Read more of our Prodigal’s story in my book: Secrets of the Little Green-Eyed Girl: Digging up the Roots of Shame and Guilt.

One response to “Worry vs. Concern”

  1. An important topic we can all relate to. Thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment